Oxytocin for Pain, Treatment Resistant Depression and Bipolar Disorder


.

.

.

Recent publications on Oxytocin are listed below. It is a very effective hormone made by the brain. It is NOT the opioid oxycodone and NOT oxycontin.

.

Use search function top left above photo to see previous postings on oxytocin since 2013. It can be extremely important in the treatment of intractable pain, treatment resistant depression, bipolar disorder or anxiety.

.

Once you titrate to the proper dose for each person —from 10 to 100 u’s, relief is quite astonishing, with rapid onset in a few minutes when given under the tongue – only after reaching that person’s dose, simple, without side effects. May use as needed 3 or 4 times per day. There is no withdrawal.

.

Avoid use if polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS). 

.

Oxytocin must be made by a compounding pharmacy. Healthcare insurance refuses to reimburse for any compounded medications though they are far less expensive even than gabapentin that fails to help so many with pain, and oxytocin is far more effective. 

.

Every time you hug someone, you are giving each other oxytocin. When your dog and you stare at each other, oxytocin is being stimulated. Having discussed that with one of my patients, he came back one month later to say he and his wife had fallen in love again after almost 50 years of marriage because they’ve been hugging every day: hugs stimulate oxytocin. 

.

Behavioral effects of oxytocin are highly context- and person-dependent. You are not going to fall in love with someone you do not like. 

.

.

Rash, JA, et al: Oxytocin & Pain, A Systematic Review & Synthesis of Findings. Clin J Pain 30(5):453-462, May 2014.

.

Xin Q et al: The Analgesic Effects of Oxytocin in the Peripheral and Central Nervous System. Neurochemistry Intl 103:57-64, 2017.

.

Paloyelis Y et al: The Analgesic Effect of Oxytocin in Humans: A double-blind, placebo-controlled, cross-over study using laser-evoked potentials. 

.

MacDonald K, Feifel D. Oxytocin’s role in anxiety: a critical appraisal. Brain Res 2014; 1580: 22–56.

.

Churchland PPS, Winkielman P. Modulating social behavior with oxytocin: how does it work? What does it mean? Horm Behav 2012; 61: 392–399.

..

Bethlehem, R A I  et al: Intranasal oxytocin enhances intrinsic corticostriatal functional connectivity in women, Translational Psychiatry, 2017, 7, 4, e1099 ********excellent********

.
.

 

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The material on this site is for informational purposes only.

.

It is not legal for me to provide medical advice without an examination.

.

It is not a substitute for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment provided by a qualified health care provider.

~~

Comments are welcome.

This site is not for email, not for medical questions, and not for appointments.

~~~~~

For My Home Page, click here:  Welcome to my Weblog on Pain Management!

.

Please IGNORE THE ADS BELOW. They are not from me.

.

.

.

.

.

..

..

.

.

.

 

 

.

.. 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Oxytocin for Pain, Treatment Resistant Depression and Bipolar Disorder”

  1. hooked In Paradise Says:

    Oh my goodness, this Oxytocin could be the Holy Grail I’ve been trying to find for years. WOW, a treatment for pain and depression is my Holy Grail. I live in Queensland, Australia. Would you be able to steer me in the right direction as to who I could talk to in Australia about this treatment. Thank you – Brian Carrall

    • Nancy Sajben MD Says:

      I am available to teach MD’s telephonically as discussed on cover page – not Skype, not email.

      • Frank Says:

        Nancy I am in the same exact position as hooked in paradise. I have seen doctors for my mental illness for over 10 years. This is no exaggeration, I have had to of tried 100 to 200 different med combinations to combat my depression. I have had spurts of 2 to 3 months of small improvements then right back to where I originally was at. I have gained 30 pounds on these meds. I really want to try this and see if it helps. I rarely leave the house. I pray everyday for something to work.

        • Nancy Sajben MD Says:

          I fail to see how doctors can ignore the decades of research on neuroinflammation.
          It is well documented for depression.

          Glial modulators relieve that inflammation in brain and spinal cord (the CNS), and using one and only one is weak thinking when dealing with intractable decades of the conditions we treat. Read the case report of the octogenarian and the combinations.

          Then read this list on 10/6/16.

  2. Frank Says:

    I would love to have my psychiatrist have me try this. I see him Thursday for the last time. He is leaving after me seeing him for 8 years or so. He always listened and tried to help me with my major depression. I have bad depression. Low testosterone that I am treated for as well as my dysfunctional spinal cord stimulator. I am 50 and when I wake up in the morning hurt feel exhausted and realize another day of depression is about to start. Believe it or not the only things that have any effect on my is my adderall and pain meds. I take 15mg oxycodone 4 times a day. Something in them makes me talkative feeling some relief in my pain and give me an energy boost for the shirt term. I have been telling my wife for years I wish they could make some combination with the part of the pain medicine that I can take so I feel like I am alive. I am on disability due to most of what I mentioned above. Is this medicine being prescribed. I will ask my doctor about it Thursday. It may be what saves me. Thank you.

  3. DB Says:

    Thank you for this! Love the comment about not falling for someone you don’t like- Ha! Good news.

  4. hoosier67 Says:

    Talked to my psychiatrist Tuesday and he wasn’t high on this as far as helping. He said that they are still doing research on it. He explained how we get it in our body. He said breast milk. And that was all he said. I wanted to ask more about it, but he just didn’t seem like it would help. I would appreciate any information, or if someone is or has used it. Thank you.

    • Nancy Sajben MD Says:

      Use the search function top left above my photo. That includes case reports. No one is going to fund research unless they can patent it and make billions. Oxytocin is a hormone that is easily compounded by pharmacists.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.